“Es gibt ja so viel Wissenswertes über Erlangen.” (“There are so many interesting facts about Erlangen.”) This was sung by Foyer des Arts in 1982, thus reaching number 36 of the German single charts. And from Erlangen are also the fun rockers J.B.O. As “defender of the true nonsense” they are on stage since 1989. And now is the eleventh album on store shelves. Short and concise called “11“.

After brief counting the band starts with the clear statement “Wir lassen uns das Blödeln nicht verbieten” (“We won’t let someone forbid us to fool around”). For this guitars are cracking out the headphones. A thoroughly serious issue, why must always be rock or metal too seriously! “Panzer Dance” has such a stupid text that it is nice again. And at the present time is the theme also highly topical. Next, “Weil ich ein Mädchen bin” (“Because I am a Girl”) by Lucilectric is heaved into the metal universe. And fittingly banging guitar riffs once again.

“Wacken ist nur einmal im Jahr” (“Wacken is only once a year”) describes the suffering of a Wacken visitor. But as a fan you have to endure it. An easygoing rock song with catchy melodies. Rather in country style “Verliebt” comes in. Somehow reminds me of the North German folk rockers Torfrock. With “Jetzt ist halt Heut” another German Schlager has been covered (“An diesem Tag mein Freund“ by Dunja Rajter). Beautiful melodic Rock’n’Pop. But also to ZZ Top dare the four. “Har Har Har” (La Grange) is musically damn close to the original.

„Nürnberg Groove” („Nuremberg Groove”) is in the original “New York Groove”. This Russ Ballard song was in 1975 placed in the German and British charts among the top ten in the version of Hello. J.B.O. however arranged it a little harder. An Erlangen citizen discovers Nuremberg. People of Middle Franconia among themselves. And finally, you can hear rap and hip-hop, but so that you can listen to it with metal-drenched ears.

J.B.O. polarize, love it or hate it. I belong to the love-it-group and was amused while listening. Rock music may just be funny, rocker may also are daffing! The lyrics are funny and encourage partly provoking. Musically, “11” is extremely varied. The musicians have repeatedly shown their outstanding abilities. Between songs short skits loosen up the album.

Official video of “Panzer Dance”: https://youtu.be/9z6t5Gh_FrE

Hannes “G.Laber” Holzmann – Guitar, Vocals
Veit “Vito C.” Kutzer – Guitar, Vocals
Ralph Bach – Bass
Wolfram Kellner – Drums

Label: AFMRecords
Out: 08.07.2016
Duration: 45:22

Track list:

  • Einzähler
  • Wir lassen uns das Blödeln nicht verbieten
  • Panzer Dance
  • Metaller
  • Ich hätt gern mehr
  • Autowerkstatt
  • Wacken ist nur einmal im Jahr
  • Verliebt
  • Jetzt ist halt Heut
  • Marilyn Manson
  • Fünf Minuten
  • Har Har Har
  • Nürnberg Groove
  • Rapper
  • Söderla!

Release date: 08-07-2016
Reviewer: Rainer Kerber
Score: 8

Rainer Kerber

This author is no longer associated with Metal On Loud Magazine.

Leave a Reply

Check Also
Back to top button